About Miriam Monfredo

A Legacy of Literary Excellence and Historical Insight

Miriam Monfredo’s literary journey is a tapestry woven with accolades, intrigue, and a deep passion for history.

It began with her debut novel, Seneca Falls Inheritance, a nominee for the esteemed Agatha Award for Best First Mystery Novel in 1992. Set against the backdrop of the groundbreaking Women’s Rights Convention of 1848, this novel marked the beginning of a remarkable career that would span eight more novels, each delving into the tapestry of American history and the evolving landscape of civil rights.

One of her notable series, the Civil War Cain Trilogy, thrusts readers into the heart of the Union’s 1862 Peninsula Campaign, a pivotal moment in American history. It’s within this turbulent period that Monfredo masterfully crafts tales of intrigue and suspense against the backdrop of Washington D.C. and Virginia.

Recognition for her literary prowess continued to pour in, with Brothers of Cain earning her the prestigious Herodotus Award for Best Historical Mystery in 2001. Additionally, she was honored with the 2000 Career Achievement Award for Historical Mystery Writing by Romantic Times, cementing her status as a luminary in the genre.

Monfredo’s impact extends beyond the written word. Her second book, North Star Conspiracy, was selected for the statewide 2002 “Alaska Reads A Book” program and the Alaska Association of School Librarians’ 2002-03 “Battle of the Books” motivational reading program. Her contributions to young adult literature were also recognized by The Voice of Youth Advocacy, which lauded The Stalking Horse as one of 1998’s best adult mysteries for young adults.

Beyond her literary endeavors, Miriam Monfredo is a sought-after speaker on the history of nineteenth-century American women, captivating audiences in twenty-two states and even abroad in England. Her short fiction has graced the pages of magazines and anthologies, including two Best of the Year collections. She has also served as the co-editor of two historical mystery anthologies, showcasing her commitment to the genre’s advancement.

Monfredo’s impact transcends borders, with her books published in France and Germany, garnering international acclaim. Despite her literary success, Miriam remains rooted in her small hamlet on the Erie Canal, where she shares her home with one cat, two dogs, and hosts a lively gang of wild mallard ducks. Through her captivating narratives and unwavering dedication to historical accuracy, Miriam Monfredo continues to enchant readers and preserve the legacy of America’s past.

Novels and Short Stories

The Seneca Falls Historical Mystery Novels

St. Martin’s Press; Berkley Prime Crime

  • Seneca Falls Inheritance, 1992 (Agatha Award nominee Best First Mystery)
  • North Star Conspiracy, 1993
  • Blackwater Spirits, 1995
  • Through A Gold Eagle, 1996 (Berkley Prime Crime)
  • The Stalking Horse, 1998
  • Must The Maiden Die, 1999

The Civil War Cain Trilogy

  • Sisters of Cain, 2000
  • Brothers of Cain, 2001 (Herodotus award Best Historical Mystery 2001)
  • Children of Cain,  2002


  • Crime Through Time, 1997, co-edited by Monfredo and Sharan Newman
  • Crime Through Time II, 1998,  Monfredo and Newman

Short Stories

  • The Vigil Table, EQMM, Feb. 1989
  • Gather Not Thy Rose, EQMM, July 1992.
  • Anthologized in Once Upon A Crime, 1994
  • The Apprentice EQMM, Nov. 1993.
  • Anthologized in The Year’s Best Mystery and Suspense Stories, 1994
  • Anthologized in The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror, 1994
  • Suffer A Witch, Crime Through Time, 1997
  • A Mule Named Sal, Crime Through Time II, 1998
  • Buffalo Gals Won’t You Come Out Tonight, Malice 8, 1999
  • A Single Spy, Crime Through Time III
  • Raise a Song, Sound the Timbrel, The Muse’s Hand,
    The Tavern Keeper’s Daughter, EQMM, Feb. 2014 (3rd place winner of Reader’s Award)
  • Child Of The Cold Moon, EQMM  2017
  • “Last Night I Dreamt I Went to Manderly Again” (conference paper)
  • Anthologized as “Daphne du Maurier” in AZ Murder Goes…Classic,
    Poisoned Pen Press (1998)


BA (cum laude) Nazareth College

Major: History/Sociology

Master's Degree (MLS) State University of New York at Geneseo

Major: Library and Information Science